Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
Q: Who enforces the law in Winters with regard to dogs?
A: Animal laws in Winters are enforced by Yolo County Animal Control.
Q: How do I contact Animal Control for Winters?
A: You can contact our Dispatch center at (530)795-4561 and ask for an Animal Control Officer; you can also call the Yolo County Animal Shelter at (530) 668-5287.
For license renewals, fees, and other associated FAQs, please visit the Yolo County Sheriff’s Animal Services section.
Q: If I see a dog attack or am attacked by a dog, who do I call?
- If you or someone else is attacked by a dog, call 911.
- Report all dog bites. Statistics on potentially aggressive and dangerous dogs cannot be tracked if dog bites are not reported to the proper authorities.
- For more information, contact Yolo County Animal Control at 530-668-5287.
Q: What is the law in Winters with regard to dogs?
- All dogs must be on a leash when not on the dog owner’s property.
- All dogs over 4 months old must be licensed and vaccinated (Rabies).
- All dogs over 4 months old must have a collar. The collar must list the license number, proof of vaccination, and the name and address of the owner.
- No dogs are allowed to run at large. If a dog is caught running at large and is impounded by Yolo County Animal Control, all costs of the impound are payable by the dog owner.
Q: What should I do if I encounter a wild animal or have a problem with a wild animal?
Do not approach the animal
Contact Yolo County Animal Control
Contact the California Department of Fish and Wildlife by filing an online Wildlife Incident Report. An investigator will be assigned and will contact you with further information.
Visit the California Department of Fish and Wildlife "Keep Me Wild" pages for more information about living near wildlife.
Q: How do I pay a parking citation?
A: Payment may be made by mail (check only) or in person (cash, check, or charge) to the Winters Police Department 702 Main Street Winters, CA 95694. If paying by check, please make check payable to "City of Winters." Additionally, the citation number must be included on the memo line. Payment must be received within 21 business days of the citation issue date.
Q: How do I contest a parking citation?
A: Per California Vehicle Code section 40215, disposition of notice of parking violation appeals is conducted sequentially:
Request for Administrative Review: Send the department a written statement outlining why the notice of parking violation should be dismissed.
Please note: copies of documentation relating to the notice of parking violation and the request for dismissal must be postmarked or delivered to the Winters Police Department within 21 calendar days of the citation issue date or within 14 calendar days of the mailing of the notice of delinquent parking per California Vehicle Code section 40215(a). There is no cost for an administrative review.
Request for Administrative Hearing: Send the department a written request for an Administrative Hearing within 21 calendar days following the notification mailing of the results of the administrative review, per California Vehicle Code section 40215(b).
Please note: Please provide your name, phone number, and an email address with your written request for an Administrative Hearing. You must pay your citation in full before a hearing being scheduled. An Administrative Hearing shall be held 90 calendar days following the receipt of the request for an Administrative Hearing, excluding time tolled pursuant to California Vehicle Code sections 40200-40225. The person requesting the hearing may request one continuance, not to exceed 21 calendar days per California Vehicle Code section 40215.
Request for Traffic Court: Send the Yolo County Superior Court a request for a hearing.
Please note: At the conclusion of the Administrative Hearing, the matter may be appealed to the Yolo County Superior Court of California. For more information, please visit the Yolo County Superior Court web page
Reporting Parking Complaints
Q: How do I report parking complaints?
A: For concerns about parking complaints, please contact our 24-hour non-emergency dispatch center at 530-795-4561.
Parking Permits for Moving PODS, trailers, etc
Q: Do I need a permit to park a moving pod/trailer in front of my residence?
A: Temporary Activity or Encroachment Permits for moving pods/trailers are issued by the City of Winters, please contact 530-795-4910 ext 160 for more information. Please note, the Special Permits are needed if the trailer/pod would need to be in the street right of way or if an encroachment issue or other City permit would be required (for example, the trailer/pod is used as part of a construction project, etc.). Trailers/Pods may not obstruct the street or block hydrants.
Vehicle Release Information
Q: How do I get a vehicle release if my vehicle has been towed?
A: Tow fees must be paid to the public safety jurisdiction where the tow took place. Please note that tow releases must be processed during lobby business hours (702 Main St Winters Mon- Fri 8 am to 4:30 pm, excluding weekends and holidays)
- Abandoned Vehicle Tow Admin Fee $125.00
- Impounded Vehicle Hearing Release Fee $199.00
- Private Property Abandoned Vehicle Abatement Fee $338 (+ Tow Company Fee)
- Repossessed Vehicle Tow Admin Fee $15.00
- Vehicle Tow Administration Fee $94.00
Vehicle Release Procedure
Vehicle releases are subject to the following three criteria:
1) Registered Owner Verification
Vehicles can only be released to registered owners with a photo identification. If the registered owner is not available, the following substitutions will be accepted:
- A notarized letter from the registered owner authorizing pick-up may be substituted.
- The registered owner (photo ID required) can come to the lobby of the Police Department and give permission for the vehicle to be released to another party.
2) Registered Vehicle Verification
Vehicles can only be released if they are registered. Registration requires registration fees, proof of insurance, and a valid smog certificate all to be sent to the Department of Motor Vehicles. If the vehicle has been towed due to a no registration violation, you must be able to provide one of the following:
- Provide proof of registration
- Signed and stamped one-day moving permit from the Department of Motor Vehicles
- Provide a statement from the tow company that the vehicle will be towed from a tow yard to a secondary location (may be subject to telephonic confirmation)
3) Licensed Driver Verification
Vehicles can only be released to a licensed driver. If the vehicle has been towed due to an unlicensed or suspended driver violation, you must:
- Bring two licensed drivers with you to pick up the vehicle (one driver who brought you to the department and an additional driver to take possession of the released vehicle).
Q: How do I evict someone?
A: The following information is provided by the Yolo County Sheriff's Office to assist landlords
1) The eviction process is not complete until the Sheriff's Deputy restores the possession of the property to you via a Receipt for Possession, even if the occupants vacate the premises before the Sheriff's Deputy's arrival.
2) If you wish to cancel the eviction prior to restoration of the property, the Plaintiff or Plaintiff's Attorney must notify the Yolo County Sheriff's Office in writing prior to the date and time of the scheduled eviction.
3) A locksmith is strongly recommended to gain entry into the property. Sheriff Deputies will not force entry into locked doors or attempt entry via side or rear doors or windows.
4) The Yolo County Sheriff's Office Civil Division can be reached by phone at 530-668-5275 or by email at email@example.com.
5) Please note law enforcement agencies are prohibited by law from dispensing legal advice and from assisting plaintiffs in completing legal forms.
The Eviction process is a three-step procedure. The following information is a general outline of each step.
1) Landlord's notice: provides legal notice of intent to a tenant(s).
- Forms: available at most office supply stores (there are several types to choose from, please choose the one that applies to your situation).
- Service: for information on serving your Landlord notice, please consult an Attorney, Landlord/Tenant handbook at any Yolo County Law Library, or the Superior Court website www.courtinfo.ca.gov/selfhelp.
- The Sheriff's Office fee for this service is $40 per person.
2) Summons and Complaint for Unlawful Detainer: notifies a tenant(s) they are being sued for restoration of the premises and any rent monies due.
- Forms are available from the Yolo County Court Clerk or the Superior Court website at www.courtinfo.ca.gov/selfhelp.
- Filing: Complete the Summons and Complaint and file them with the appropriate court. You will be required to provide the Certificate of Service and the Original Landlord's Notice at the time of filing. The court will file your complaint and issue an original summons.
- Service: To find information on serving your Summons and Complaint for Unlawful Detainer, please consult an Attorney, Landlord/Tenant handbook at any Yolo County Law Library or the Superior Court website www.courtinfo.ca.gov/selfhelp.
- Sheriff's Office fee for this service is $40.0 per person, there is an additional $40.00 fee for the Pre-Judgement Claim.
3) Writ of Execution Possession of Real Property: Court issued document that directs the Sheriff to evict a tenant(s).
- Forms: Are available from the Yolo County Court Clerk or the Superior Court website www.courtinfo.ca.gov/selfhelp.
- Filing: after you have obtained a judgment against your tenant, you may complete the Writ of Execution and submit it to the Court Clerk for issuance.
- Service: this service MUST be done by the Sheriff. The Sheriff will need:
- 1) The Original Writ of Execution Possession of Real Property (signed and sealed) and three (3) copies (front and back)
- 2) $145 per address unit (each suite, apartment, or separate unattached garage).
- Receipt: The workday prior to the eviction, you or your contact person, will receive a phone call to arrange a meeting time at the property. At the time of the eviction, the Sheriff's Deputy will provide you with a Receipt for Possession, restoring the property to you. Please keep this receipt. If the tenant(s) return to the property after the eviction. please call your local law enforcement jurisdiction. They will request to see your copy of the Receipt for Possession.
Q: How do I get a Restraining Order?
A: Restraining or Protective Orders are available at the Yolo Superior Court. Both the Family Law Facilitator and Empower Yolo Staff can assist you in filling out the order if you need assistance. You do not need to make a police report to be eligible to request a Restraining or Protective Order. Once the order is on file, it must be served to the restrained party. Service can be done through the Civil Division of the Yolo County Sheriff's Office or by anyone over the age of 18 who is not a party to the action. Service fees may be waived if there is a threat of violence.
See Yolo County Resources in the right hand margin.
Q: How can I tell if my Winters address is inside the city limits?
A: The Winters city limits are County Road 90 (now Matsumoto Ln), Moody Slough Rd, Bridge on Dry Creek, and the Railroad Car Bridge. Also, visit the Find My Service Area GIS mapping tool.
Q: What law enforcement agency do I call if my address is outside the City of Winters limits?
A: If your Winters address contains 5 numbers, you are in the Yolo County Sheriff's response jurisdiction. If your Winters address contains 4 numbers, you are in the Solano County Sheriff's response jurisdiction.
Q: How do I get a copy of a police report
A: Copies of police reports are available from the Police Department per the terms of the California Public Records Act and the California Government Code. Copies of reports must be obtained (with photo ID) during Winters Police Department business office hours. Please be advised that not all police reports are available for immediate release. If you would like a copy of a police report, please fill out the form linked below:
Q: How can I report a crime?
A: Remember, if you have an in-progress emergency, please dial 911. If you need to report a crime that is no longer in progress, please contact our 24-hour Police Dispatch Center at (530) 795-4561
Q: How do I pick up property?
A: Property is released by appointment only. To make an appointment or for questions regarding property or evidence retained by the Winter Police Department please contact the Property Officer at (530) 794-6725.